‘Hell hath no fury…’

‘Hell hath no fury…’
begins one misogynistic phrase
I am thankful, truly
we’ve moved on from dumb decrepit  ways.

I seek, purely
 a life with love, light, with the simpler things
to sleep securely,
with my lover, bright, in the peace her arms bring.

I’m no saint
I’ve sinned, stumbled, tripped and fallen flat
I’ll try not to paint
 word-pictures that hide that.

instead, I’ll speak
of my past with all it’s pain and horrors replete
as my heart creaks
squeeks and groans in past torments complete.

In the hope
you find in me some truth, some honesty
and you can cope
for right now, here, you are all to me.

Leave a Reply

